The North Carolina Area Health Education Centers Program


To meet the state’s health and health workforce needs. NC AHEC provides educational programs and services that bridge academic institutions and communities to improve the health of the people of North Carolina with a focus on underserved populations.


To help lead the transformation of health care education and services in North Carolina.



We will be team-based and open-minded.


We will be respectful and inclusive.

Service Excellence

We will deliver quality activities and services that our customers value.


We will continuously generate, test, evaluate, implement and improve new ideas.


We will act with fairness, transparency and the highest level of ethics.


The North Carolina AHEC Program evolved from national and state concerns with the supply, distribution, retention and quality of health professionals. In 1970, a report from the Carnegie Commission recommended the development of a nationwide system of Area Health Education Centers.

Legislation and federal support since the early 1970s has made the implementation of AHEC programs possible in many states. This national focus coincided with a growing effort in North Carolina to establish statewide community training for health professionals and reverse a trend toward shortages and uneven distribution of primary care physicians in the state’s rural areas.

The program began in 1972 with three AHEC regions under a federal AHEC contract with the UNC-CH School of Medicine. In 1974, the North Carolina General Assembly approved and funded a plan by the UNC-CH School of Medicine to create a statewide network of nine AHEC regions.

The plan called for the establishment of 300 new primary care medical residencies and the regular rotation of students to off-campus sites.

The General Assembly also provided funds to build or renovate AHEC educational facilities in the nine regions and to develop the proposed program components. By 1975, all nine AHECs were operational.

The NC AHEC Pipeline


The NC Area Health Education Centers


Regional AHEC Locations

Area L AHEC – Serving Edgecombe, Halifax, Nash, Northampton, and Wilson counties.
Charlotte AHEC – Serving Anson, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Stanly, and Union counties.
Eastern AHEC– Serving Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, and Wayne counties.
Greensboro AHEC – Serving Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Guilford, Montgomery, Orange, Randolph,and Rockingham counties.
Mountain AHEC – Serving Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey counties.
Northwest AHEC – Serving Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Iredell, Rowan, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin counties.
South East AHEC – Serving Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, Pender, and New Hanover counties.
Southern Regional AHEC – Serving Bladen, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Moore, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, and Scotland counties.
Wake AHEC – Serving Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Lee, Person, Vance, Wake, and Warren counties.