We Educate, Explore, Engage (E3).

We are navigators who engage, educate, and provide exploration opportunities to pre-college students, parents, educators, and community to the many careers in the health care workforce.

North Carolina Area Health Education Centers (AHECs) are located across the state and each serves a multi-county region. We provide community-based education for health care professionals.

AHECs are vitally important in the education and careers of health care workers. An AHEC might help a student interested in health occupations find enrichment activities and educational programs before high school graduation. Once the student enters a college or university, AHEC supports community-based student training. Health professionals working in North Carolina depend on their AHECs for continuing education and access to first-rate library and information services. AHECs also offer educational programs in smaller communities so health care professionals can continue to work while they pursue advanced degrees.

Each of the nine AHECs and the Duke AHEC Program has a director of Health Careers and Workforce Diversity. This director develops programs and activities targeting students and others interested in pursuing a profession in health care. For more information, click on the AHEC region that serves your county on the list below:

Area L AHEC – Serving Edgecombe, Halifax, Nash, Northampton, and Wilson counties.
Charlotte AHEC – Serving Anson, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Stanly, and Union counties.
Eastern AHEC– Serving Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, and Wayne counties.
Greensboro AHEC – Serving Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Guilford, Montgomery, Orange, Randolph,and Rockingham counties.
Mountain AHEC – Serving Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey counties.
Northwest AHEC – Serving Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Iredell, Rowan, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin counties.
South East AHEC – Serving Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, Pender, and New Hanover counties.
Southern Regional AHEC – Serving Bladen, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Moore, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, and Scotland counties.
Wake AHEC – Serving Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Lee, Person, Vance, Wake, and Warren counties.


Our Partners

We all share the responsibility of ensuring quality health care is delivered to the citizens of North Carolina. Collaboration is key to achieving this goal. We appreciate our partners for their support of NC AHEC Health Careers.