NC AHEC Nurse Refresher Program

Return to nursing or reactivate your license with NC AHEC’s RN refresher program.

NC AHEC’s nurse refresher course is online and self-paced so that you can balance work, life, and your career. The NC AHEC RN Refresher Program consists of a 24-module, self-paced, medical-surgical nursing review and a 160-hour clinical practicum. This program is a collaborative effort of the NC AHEC Program, the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Nursing, and The William and Ida Friday Center for Continuing Education.

The NC AHEC Registered Nurse (RN) Refresher Program was developed in the late 1980s in response to an ongoing nursing shortage. Between 1990 and 2012, more than 3,400 nurses enrolled in the RN Refresher Program offered through each of the nine regional AHECs and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Almost 2,500 of those enrollees completed the didactic portion of the program, and 1,650 also completed the clinical component. Upon successful completion of both the didactic and clinical portion of the course, participants are eligible to apply for reinstatement of their nursing licenses through the North Carolina Board of Nursing.


Nurse Refresher Program Contacts

Contact the RN refresher coordinator at the regional AHEC for your county to obtain more information and to determine program eligibility in your region. If you live in Orange, Durham, Chatham, or Person counties, visit nurserefresher.web.unc.edu for more information.

Area L AHEC

Counties Served: Edgecombe, Halifax, Nash, Northampton, Wilson
Patty Collins, MAEd, BSN, RN
Email: Patty.Collins@arealahec.org
Phone: 252-972-6958

Charlotte AHEC

Counties Served: Anson, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Stanly, Union
Kathryn Fitzpatrick, RN, MSN
Email: kathryn.fitzpatrick@carolinashealthcare.org
Phone: 704-512-6579

Eastern AHEC

Counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne
Laura P. Bliley, RN, MSN
Email: blileyl@ecu.edu
Phone: 252-744-5216

Greensboro AHEC

Counties Served: Alamance, Caswell, Guilford, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham
Shawn Houck, MSN, RN
Email: shawn.houck@conehealth.com
Phone: 336-832-3947

Mountain AHEC (MAHEC)

Counties Served: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Yancey
Bonnie Garner, MS, CPN, RN
Email: bonnie.garner@mahec.net
Phone: 828-257-4458

Northwest AHEC

Counties Served: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Iredell, Rowan, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin
Kay Herr, MSN, RN
Email: kherr@wfubmc.edu
Phone: 336-713-7720

South East AHEC (SEAHEC)

Counties Served: Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, New Hanover, Pender
Saralyn Gillikin, MSN, RNC
Email: saralyn.gillikin@seahec.net
Phone: 910-667-9347

Southern Regional AHEC

Counties Served: Bladen, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Moore, Robeson, Richmond, Sampson, Scotland
Sherri G. Eubanks, RN, BSN
Email: Sherri.Eubanks@sr-ahec.org
Phone: 910-678-7035

Wake AHEC

Counties Served: Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Lee, Vance, Wake, Warren
Kathy Clark MS, RN
Email: kgclark@wakemed.org
Phone: 919-350-0481