In December 2020, Northwest AHEC and the NC Medical Society announced a new cohort of 30 scholars who will be participating in the Future Clinician Leaders College program in 2021.

“This program is one that is near and dear to Northwest AHEC, since originating here 3 years ago from the leadership of a valued colleague, Dr. Roy Strowd, at the Wake Forest School of Medicine,” shared Northwest AHEC Director Michael P. Lischke on the region’s blog. “It’s grown into this exceptional program through the NC Medical Society and now includes students from diverse interprofessional graduate health professions programs.”

The one-year leadership development program is designed for emerging leaders in health care professions and places a particular focus on working within interprofessional environments across institutions. The Future Clinician Leaders College is made possible in partnership with the Kanof Institute for Physician Leadership and is led by Northwest AHEC through a series of live virtual workshops over six distinct modules.

“This unique, multi-institutional and organization extracurricular activity is valuable to help develop the next generation of leaders to drive healthcare services across our State,” Dr. Lischke added.

The 30 scholars who will begin the program next month are listed below, courtesy of NCMS Morning Rounds.

Caroline Coggins, Cabarrus College, OT
Kara Tarpey, Cabarrus College, OT
Brennen Guzik, Campbell University, Pharmacy
Heather Pol, Campbell University, DO
Briana Williams, Campbell University, Pharmacy
Hunnain Siddiqui, Campbell University, Pharmacy
Meredith Smith, Duke University, Doctorate – Physical Therapy
Lauren Alexander, Duke University, Doctorate – Physical Therapy
Julianne Peters, Duke University, Doctorate – Physical Therapy
Tichelle Porch, Duke University, MD
Diya Uthappa, Duke University, MD
Denisse Porras, Duke University, MD
Kira Pazner, Duke University, MD
Shashank Rajkumar, Duke University, MD
Mariah Leroux, Duke University, PA
Adaugo Iwuala, Duke University, PA
Michaela Kaltner, Duke University, PA
Erin Figgins, Duke University, PA
LeVon James, Duke University, PA-C
James Parker, East Carolina University, DMD
Cody Phen, East Carolina University, DMD
Amber Gautam, East Carolina University, MD
Laura Beth Lavette, Wake Forest University, MD
Carly Olszewski, Wake Forest University, MD
Sharon Thomas, Wake Forest University, MD
Logan Oyler, Wake Forest University, PA
Douglas Teasdall, Wake Forest University, PA
Kristen Dodenhoff, Wake Forest University, PA
Amy Gallagher, Western Carolina University, Doctorate – CRNA
Wesley Maughon, Western Carolina University, Doctorate – CRNA

Potential scholars looking to learn more about the 2022 application cycle can do so by visiting the bottom of this page. Those interested in reviewing the final white papers of the previous class of Future Clinician Leaders can locate them on the NC Medical Society website.